The BBRI research faculty consists of 30 independent scientists who have the prerogative of choosing and developing their own research programs. However, BBRI prides itself in providing an exceptionally collegial and interactive research environment, which leads to cross-fertilization of ideas and many collaborations, making the whole truly more than the sum of its parts. As a result, it is possible to discern patterns in the 30 research programs of the individual members of BBRI’s research faculty. A dominant theme, which has historically been a major focus of research at BBRI, is the study of the molecular and biophysical mechanisms by which skeletal, cardiac, and smooth muscles contract. But closely interwoven with this theme is the study of signal transduction and the regulation of cell growth and survival, which serves to place muscle contraction into a physiological and pathological context. It is through such a systems approach that the fundamental knowledge developed through basic research can be brought to bear on the problems of human disease.

One of the joys of doing basic research is that it is a journey of discovery. Often, as we follow our research leads, we are unexpectedly led into totally unanticipated directions. This is why the research carried out by BBRI’s faculty doesn’t necessarily all fit into the pattern described above but sometimes deals with quite unrelated topics. It is this lack of constraint and interesting diversity which makes BBRI such an exciting place for doing research.

Xingbin Ai, Ph.D.
Lynne M. Coluccio, Ph.D.
Roberto Dominguez, Ph.D.
Janice Dominov, Ph.D.
Charles P. Emerson, Jr., Ph.D.
Peter Erhardt, M.D., Ph.D.
James Fessenden, Ph.D.
Samudra S. Gangopadhyay, Ph.D.
John Gergely, M.D., Ph.D.
Jonathan M. Goldberg, Ph.D.
Ruben Rene Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Zenon Grabarek, Ph.D.
Philip Graceffa, Ph.D.
Noriaki Ikemoto, Ph.D.
Toshio Kitazawa, Ph.D.
Knut Langsetmo, Ph.D.
Paul C. Leavis, Ph.D.
Sherwin S. Lehrer, Ph.D.
Renne Chen Lu, Ph.D.
Katsuhide Mabuchi, Ph.D.
Jeffrey Boone Miller, Ph.D.

Kathleen G. Morgan, Ph.D.
Henry Paulus, Ph.D.
Lucia Rameh, Ph.D.
Victor A. Raso, Ph.D.
Nilima Sarkar, Ph.D.
Janet L. Smith, Ph.D.
Walter F. Stafford, III, Ph.D.
Eric J. Sundberg, Ph.D.
Terence C. Tao, Ph.D.
Chih-Lueh Albert Wang, Ph.D.
Hartmut Wohlrab, Ph.D.